Otaku Calendar Otaku Calendar

Children of the Sea - Collector's Edition Combi (Blu-ray) UK Release Details

Children of the Sea - Collector's Edition Combi (Blu-ray) UK
Release Date: 08 March 2021
RRP: £34.99 (GBP)
Rating: PG
Company: Anime Ltd
Country: United Kingdom
Posted By: Joe

Categories: Release Blu-ray Retail

Adapted from the manga by author Daisuke Igarashi, which won the Excellence Prize at the Japan Media Arts Festival, Children of the Sea is the latest feature from Japan's STUDIO4°C (known for Tekkonkinkreet, Mind Game, Animatrix, Batman: Gotham Knight and others). Directed by Ayumu Watanabe, the film features a score by award-winning composer and longtime Studio Ghibli collaborator Joe Hisaishi (Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle, My Neighbour Totoro).

Synopsis: When Ruka was younger, she saw a ghost in the water at the aquarium where her dad works. Now she feels drawn toward the aquarium and the two mysterious boys she meets there, Umi and Sora. They were raised by dugongs and hear the same strange calls from the sea as she does. Ruka's dad and the other adults who work at the aquarium are only distantly aware of what the children are experiencing as they get caught up in the mystery of the worldwide disappearance of the oceans' fish.

On disc extras:

Intro at Animation is Film
Directing Children of the Sea
Animation Breakdown
Interview with Composer Joe Hisaishi
Japanese Cast Interview
Art Gallery
Selected Storyboards
Turep - Looking for Children of the Sea
Studio 4C Makes a Meal
Making of the Poster